January 19th, 2014 YoP update AND… 52 weeks of granny!

20140119-001422.jpg

AND a post about the group –

20140119-001502.jpg

This week I finished off not 1, not 2 but 3 test projects. 3!!! Amazing.

All of which I will show when the patterns are published on Ravelry. What I can tell you is one is a knitted cowl, designed by a fellow raveler in the YoP group and the two hats are from the Scattered Dahlias group

This amazing cowl…

20140119-002209.jpg

will get to come out of the wip pile now that these three projects are all complete 😉

With some left over yarn from one of the hats I made this granny square

20140119-002352.jpg

It fulfills my week three granny square for the 52 weeks of Granny… Squares group.

I don’t really know what I am going to do with it, but I am thinking I may make another one of these…

20140119-002459.jpg

This is a stash yarn granny square blanket that I made about 20 years ago. It is a bit of a disaster… But when I made it as a teenager, I was pretty in love with it. So much so that I still have it. Every now and again I look at it and think “I should just take this thing apart and reconstruct it”, but then I figure “why should I? Reconstructing it would take away from its charm”.

So with the lone square, I think I will (over the course of this year), I will construct another blanket. Maybe.

Happy Sunday and happy knitting/crocheting/etc!

11 thoughts on “January 19th, 2014 YoP update AND… 52 weeks of granny!

  1. DON’T DECONSTRUCT! It definitely is half the charm. Especially if it’s yours and you made it. I like the way it looks and I look forward to seeing how the new granny squares will look together.

  2. My favorite blanket in the house is an acrylic brown and orange crocheted afghan. It’s hideous, and will probably out live me, seeing as it’s entirely a petroleum project– but I love it because every time I snuggle under it I remember all the years I snuggled under it at my grandmother’s house. I’m never getting rid of it, but I did agree to make a less aesthetically objectionable blanket for the living room.

    I say, keep that fabulous one that your teenage self made with pride, and make a new one so that you can enjoy the old one without public commentary 🙂

  3. Never, Ever take that blanket apart. I agree with all the others–it is part of your fiber history! Way to go on the test knit finishes–You are free to pick up whatever your heart desires now.
    xoxox

  4. Do not de-construct it, the reason you love it would be lost. I think making another with your 52 squares a great idea. Looking forward to the test knits.

  5. I actually love the way that blanket looks! And I agree with the others, please don’t deconstruct it! All those memories that it carries.. And I can’t wait to see more of those pretty granny squares!

Leave a Reply

